Department of Neurology Faculty, Fellows and Residents
Group of doctors in Lab coats

Breakthrough in Mitochondrial Diseases

Read About It

Progress in Stem Cell Treatments

Read About It

Moving Day 2013

More . . .
ALS Ice Bucket

ALS Team Accepts Ice Bucket Challenge

Patient Care

Make an Appointment

Everything you need to know to make an appointment with or contact one of our neurologists.


Education and Training

The department offers an outstanding training experience to exisiting and future neurologists.



Our research programs are trying to Solve the Puzzle of Neurological Disorders.

Latest News

exp:news_feed:department site="neurology" category_id="291" parse="inward" year="" month="" count="3"
Alberto Ramos, M.D., M.S.P.H.

Miller Neurologist Writes Corresponding Editorial to Study Linking Stroke and Sleep

Alberto Ramos, M.D., MSPH, assistant professor of clinical neurology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, has written a corresponding editorial to the much publicized study that indicates people who sleep more than eight hours a night may have an increased risk of stroke. Both were published in the February 25 online issue of Neurology, the medical journal of the American Academy of Neurology.

Read more »

Teshamae Monteith, M.D., speaking at AAAS Annual Meeting.

Migraine Research of Dr. Teshamae Monteith Featured at Renowned Scientific Meeting

Teshamae Monteith, M.D., assistant professor of neurology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, was among elite company at the recent Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an international organization dedicated to “advancing science for the benefit of all people.” The meeting is the world’s largest scientific conference.

Read more »

Antoni Barrientos, Ph.D., left, and Ph.D. candidate Ya-Ting Tu.

Researchers Discover the Mitochondrial Equivalent of the Nucleolus

In a study published in the February 12 issue of the journal Cell Reports, a group of University of Miami Miller School of Medicine scientists led by Antoni Barrientos, Ph.D., professor of neurology and biochemistry and molecular biology, discovered a factor that plays an essential role during the early stages of mitoribosome large-subunit assembly.

Read more »