About us : Faculty

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., FAAN, FAHA

Olemberg Family Chair in Neurological Diseases Stroke
Miller Professor of Neurology, Public Health Sciences & Human Genetics
Chairman, Department of Neurology

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7519
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
RSacco@med.miami.edu
Hospital: UMH/JMH
Clinics: PAC

David Adams, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Chief, General Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4049
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
DAdams2@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH
Clinics: PAC

Gustavo Alameda, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Neurology Spine Program

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4778
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-4778
GAlameda@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH
Clinics: UMH/UMHC

Negar Asdaghi, M.D., FRCPC

Assistant Professor
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
nasdaghi@med.miami.edu

Hospitals: UMH/JMH
Clinics: PAC

Ram Ayyar, M.D.

Professor of Neurology
Director of EMG Laboratory
Director of Neuromuscular Medicine Fellowship Program
Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2422
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
DAyyar@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH
Clinics: PAC

Maranatha Ayodele, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Neurocritical Care Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
mxa1234@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Richard Bailyn, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Physician, UHealth at Boca Raton

Administrative Office: (561) 455-3627
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
RBailyn@med.miami.edu

Antonio Barrientos, Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology
Neuromuscular Division
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-8683
ABarrientos@med.miami.edu

Bernard S. Baumel, M.D.

Voluntary Assistant Professor of Neurology
Cognitive Disorder Division
Director Memory Disorders Clinical Trials

Administrative Office: 305-243-1664
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
B.Baumel@med.miami.edu

Clinics: PAC

Michael G. Benatar, M.D.,Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology
Chief, Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4015
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
MBenatar@med.miami.edu

Hospitals: JMH
Clinics: PAC

Andrew Brown, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
General Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4049
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
adb159@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH/UMH
Clinics: PAC/Lennar

Walter G. Bradley, DM, FCRP

Professor & Chairman Emeritus
Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7400
WBradley@med.miami.edu

Olimpia Carbunar, M.D.,M.S.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
General Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4049
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
Oxc163@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH/UMH
Clinics: PAC

Seemant Chaturvedi, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Vice Chair Neurology Programs
Miami VA Medical Center
Stroke Divison

Administrative Office: (305) 575-3151
SChaturvedi@med.miami.edu

Hospital: VA

Kunjan R. Dave, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1745
KDave@med.miami.edu

Silvia R. Delgado, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology
Multiple Sclerosis Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2279
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
SDelgado1@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Keith DeSousa M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Director, Stroke & Interventional Neurology Jackson South
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
Kdesousa@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH/Jackson South Community Hospital

Francisca Diaz, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1745
FDiaz1@med.miami.edu

Salim Dib, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
University of Miami Hospital Neurology Chief
Associate Director, Neurology Education and Training
Sleep Medicine/General Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-5927
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
SDib@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH/VA

Chuanhui Dong, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-9274
CDong@med.miami.edu

Macarena de la Fuente, M.D.

Assistant Professor of NeuroOncology
NeuroOncology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4951
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-5302
Mdelafuente@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Myron D. Ginsberg, M.D.

Scheinberg Professor of Neurology
Cerebral Vascular Disease Research Center
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6449
MGinsberg@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH

Deborah Olin Heros, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Neurology and NeuroOncology
NeuroOncology and General Neurology Divisions

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4951
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-5302
DHeros@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Hong Jiang, M.D.,Ph.D

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurology
General Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 326-4069
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
HJiang@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH/BPEI

Paige Kalika, D.O.

Assistant Professor Clinical Neurology and Pediatrics Pediatric Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2421
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
PKalika@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Andres M. Kanner, M.D., F.A.N.A

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Chief, Epilepsy Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4015
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
a.kanner@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH/VA

Sebastian Koch, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Director, Patrick Cesarano Neurovascular Laboratory
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
SKoch@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/ JMH

Mohan Kottapally, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Neurocritical Care Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
mkottapally@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Erika Marulanda-Londono

Instructor Clinical Neurology
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
emarulanda@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Maria Raquel Lopez, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
General Neurology Division
VA/Epilepsy Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2421
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
MRLopez@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Roberto Lopez-Alberola, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology & Pediatrics
Chief, Pediatric Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2421
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
RLopez@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH

Merredith Lowe, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Director, IOM Program
Epilepsy Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4015
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
MLowe@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH/VA

Corneliu Luca, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Director, DBS Program
Movement Disorders Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7099
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
CLuca@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Research

Amer Malik, M.D., M.B.A.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
amalik@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Deborah C. Mash, Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology and
Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology
Jeanne C. Levey Professor
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-5888
Fax: (305) 243-3649
DMash@med.miami.edu

Alberto Martinez-Arizala, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology
Neurology Spinal Cord Program

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4778
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-4778
AMartine@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH/VA

Micheline McCarthy, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology
Neurology Staff Physician Miami VA Medical Center
VA Neuroimmunology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 575-3151
MMcCarth@med.miami.edu

Hospital: VA

Amedeo Merenda, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology and Neurological Surgery
Neurocritical Care Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
AMerenda@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Teshamae Monteith, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Headache/General Neurology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4951
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
TMonteith@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Henry Moore, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Movement Disorders Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7099
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
HMoore@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Carlos T. Moraes, Ph.D.

Lichtenstein Professor of Neurology
Cell Biology and Anatomy
Neuromuscular Division
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1745
CMoraes@med.miami.edu
Lab website: Moraeslab.weebly.com

Kristine O’Phelan, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology
Co-Director of Neurosciences Critical Care Unit/Jackson Memorial Hospital
Chief, Neurocritical Care Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
KOPhelan@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Melissa Ortega, M.D.

Assistant Professor Clinical Neurology
Multiple Sclerosis Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2279
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
MOrtega2@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Gustavo Ortiz, M.D

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-4621
GOrtiz2@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Alyssa D. Pensirikul, M.D.

Assistant Professor Clinical Neurology and Pediatrics
Pediatric Neurology Division

Neurology Administrative Office: (305) 243-4069
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
apensirikul@med.miami.edu

Hospital: JMH

Miguel Perez-Pinzon, Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology/Neuroscience
Director, Cerebral Vascular Disease Research Center
Director, Peritz Scheinberg Cerebral Vascular Laboratory
Vice-Chair for Neurology Basic Science

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1745
perezpinzon@med.miami.edu

Kottil Rammohan, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Director, MS Center of Excellence
Chief, Multiple Sclerosis Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2279
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
KRammohan@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Alberto R. Ramos, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology
Co-Director, Sleep Medicine Program
Sleep Medicine Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1664
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
ARamos@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/VA

Danielle Ransom, Psy.D.

Assistant Professor of Neurology
Neuropsychology Division
UHealth Sports Medicine Concussion Program

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7529
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
DRansom@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Ami P. Raval, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1745
ARaval@med.miami.edu

Gustavo J. Rey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology (pending)
Neuropsychology Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7529
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
g.rey1@med.miami.edu

Yolanda Reyes-Iglesias, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Chief, VA Neurology Department
Miami VA

Administrative Office: (305) 575-3151
yolanda.reyes-iglesias@va.gov

Hospital: VA

Ramses Ribot, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Epilepsy Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4015
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
r.ribot@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Eugene L. Roberts, Jr., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Neurology
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4640
ERoberts@med.miami.edu

Jose Romano, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Vice-Chair of Clinical Affairs
Chief, Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6175
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
JRomano@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Mitchell Rubin, M.D.

Voluntary Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Stroke Division

For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
mxr1692@med.miami.edu

Physician, UHealth Boca Raton

Tatjana Rundek, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology
Vice-Chair Neurology Clinical and Translational Research
Chief, Clinical and Translational Research Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1664
TRundek@med.miami.edu

Mario Saporta, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A., FAAN

Assistant Professor of Neurology and Human Genetics
Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2422
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
Mas638@med.miami.edu

Enrique A Serrano, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Program Director, Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4015
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
eserrano4@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Khema Sharma, M.D.

Professor of Neurology
Co-Director Electromyography Laboratory
Director MDA Clinic, Neuropathy Clinic and Post-Polio Clinic
Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2422
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
KSharma@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Robert Shebert, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology and Pathology
Director, Muscle and Nerve Pathology Laboratory
Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2422
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
RShebert@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

William Sheremata, M.D.

Professor Emeritus of Clinical Neurology
Multiple Sclerosis Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2279
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
WSherema@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Thomas Sick, Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology and
Physiology/Biophysics
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-3858
TSick@med.miami.edu

Carlos Singer, M.D.

Professor of Neurology
Chief, Movement Disorders Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7098
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
CSinger@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Xiaoyan Sun, M.D.,Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Cognitive Disorder Division
Education Director Mcknight Brain Institute

Administrative Office: 305-243-1664
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
xxs356@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Leticia Tornes, M.D.

Assistant Professor Clinical Neurology
Director, Education and Training
Epilepsy and Multiple Sclerosis Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-2279
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
LTornes@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Naymee Velez-Ruiz, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Epilepsy Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-4015
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
nxv146@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Ashok Verma, M.D., D.M.

Professor of Clinical Neurology
Director, Kessenich Family ALS Center and MDA Clinics
Neuromuscular Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-7400
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
AVerma@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH

Douglas M. Wallace, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology
VA Sleep Medicine Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-5195
For Patient Appointments: (305) 243-3100
DWallace@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH/VA

Brant Watson, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus , Basic Science Research
Basic Science Division

Administrative Office: (305) 243-6439
BWatson@med.miami.edu

Sion Williams, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
Neurology Basic Science Division
Co-Director, Oncogenomics Core Facility (OCF)
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center

Administrative Office: (305) 243-1745
slwilliams@med.miami.edu

Joanne Wuu, Sc.M.

Research Associate Professor

Administrative Office: 305-243-4819
jwuu@med.miami.edu

Dileep Yavagal, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology & Neurosurgery
Chief, Interventional Neurology
Co-Director, Endovascular Neurosurgery
Interventional/Stroke Division

Administrative Office: (305) 355-1103
For Patient Appointments: (305) 355-1103
DYavagal@med.miami.edu

Hospital: UMH/JMH